Tired of the Life You’re Living? Take Steps to Change It.

As I was sitting in one of the cafes of Northeastern University, skipping my evening class, I thought about three things:

  • I didn’t want to be here studying whatever it was I was studying.
  • I didn’t want to teach English as a second language anymore.
  • I wanted to travel the world and write about it.

I asked myself why was I limiting myself to options or to a way of life that I found deeply unsatisfying. I was 28 years old and felt pressured to have a stable, full-time job and help support my parents. But why couldn’t I do that through another avenue? Surely there had to be another way. I didn’t want to get married or have children. I had little to no desire to settle down. I wanted to move, explore, meet new people, and have adventures. As someone with very little responsibilities, I wanted to enjoy the precious time I had before it was all gone. So, what could I do to change my life? Right now. At this very moment of crisis.

If I wanted to be a travel writer, I first needed to write. I’ve decided to look up some interesting places in Boston and write about them. I’ll post them here on my blog and look for other places where I could have my articles published. I will scour craigslist for some freelance writing jobs so that I could start building my writing portfolio. And I’ll make more of an effort to connect with other writers who blog about their travels to spread my presence online. I’ll do everything I can to develop a voice that can reach a wide audience through multiple social media channels.

These are all very simple and I don’t have to wait long to start any of them. The beauty of all of this is that I can start now.

Sometimes, you have to look yourself in the mirror and be real about what you really want to do. For too long I’ve allowed other people to dictate my future. 2015 needs to see a change. Change in how I choose to live and where I choose to live. I need to stop wasting time living someone else’s version of what he or she thinks my life should be. I know myself well enough to know what makes me happy or unhappy. And it’s more than just being happy. I want to feel fulfilled. Like I have some power over my life and where I want it to go. And I do. We all do. We just need to take that first step and run with it.

                                                                                Where will you go next?

How about you? How do you find ways to change your life?

Stay Amazing,

Sammy

Leave a Reply

