Unfinished Business

They taught me to hate you

Before I knew hate’s sting

Although the letters were few

This schooling was the first thing

Written in shame

Carved in my brain

Wired to point

Disavow

And cause pain

But you smiled back

And waited through my tears

For the surface to crack

And give up all my fears

Manufactured since my birth

With their guns aimed at my worth

All these little toy soldiers

Weighing down on my shoulders

Wound up so tight

Sapping up

All

My

Fight

But before I was too far gone

And almost trapped in this con

You made it plain

You brought me out

Showing me what was right

Curing me of this blight

This hate that masquerades as sane

And proclaims that we’re all the same

They fix it up

Serve us a cup

And they watch while we all die

Giving birth to new poison

Too late to get an abortion

Afraid to cause a commotion

 

And yet you stayed there with me

Suffering long nights with me

When I cradled my head in my hands

Looking out for ways to be free

From all of these ghosts and their plans

From all of their cages and blind fans

 

I searched for the love they tried to make cheap

The love standing out from all these damn sheep

With my eyes set outward, I looked the wrong way

But when I went inward, it was a good day

The eyes, the lips, the hair, the skin

The things of me they kept at bay

I found these all in you and more

Even though you weren’t known as kin

 

You’re the love they taught me to kill

You teach me to never give in

Never forget

And someday you’ll help me forgive

IMG_20141230_101110

Leave a Reply

