22 Things Life Taught Me in 2014

2014 is coming to a close and it’s been a so-so year, not necessarily awful like 2013 but not necessarily amazing like 2010. I’m more hopeful than ever about 2015 because it includes one of my two favorite numbers, 5. (0 is my other favorite number by the way.) I graduated high school in 2005, one of the happiest days of my life. And I spent my most incredible year ever so far in NYC in 2010. Maybe 2015 will shed some much needed goodness and adventure in my life. I know I need it or else I’ll suffer a mental breakdown. Anyway, I bid farewell to 2014 by putting up a list of 22 things this year has taught me.

  1. Blind faith doesn’t work.
  2. Some friendships require work; others don’t.
  3. It takes more than a positive attitude to get through things.
  4. You need to give 150% to make things happen; 100% isn’t enough.
  5. You CAN get through the craziest and most discouraging times in your life.
  6. It’s up to you to be happy and motivated enough to live.
  7. You can change some things; you’re not totally powerless.
  8. Taking the initiative is always desirable.
  9. It’s okay that your parents don’t understand you.
  10. It’s not cute to censor yourself.
  11. You are desirable.
  12. Always go with your gut. Stop second-guessing yourself.
  13. Don’t make promises you can’t keep.
  14. You’re more intelligent and capable than you ever thought possible.
  15. You matter.
  16. Being agnostic isn’t easy. Religion has its merits.
  17. Faking that you’re still a Christian hurts you more than you realize.
  18. Stop expecting so much from people. Let them surprise you.
  19. You finally know what you want. And that’s good.
  20. Getting what you want will take time.
  21. Going after you want will require sacrifice…like sleep.
  22. San Diego, California will be your future home.

How about you? What are some things this year has taught you? Would love to hear your thoughts!

Stay amazing,

Sammy

Leave a Reply

